Le Clos Pascal

Erwin Gross wieoftnochErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-SpaceErwin Gross Painting Art wieoftnoch Karlruhe Exhibition Off-Space

"Le Clos Pascal" by Erwin Gross

09.07. - 25.07.2021

The paintings of Erwin Gross could be understood as quiet in the loudness of our time. Almost a bit mysterious, like Erwin Gross himself, about whom not much can be found on the internet. But this should not be misunderstood as mystical staging. It is much more about maintaining a state of overview. A state which allows to pay attention to the smallest differences.


The paintings of Erwin Gross, who participated in documenta 7 in 1982 and has been teaching painting at the Academy of Fine Arts Karlsruhe since 1990, often find their origin at the border areas of coincidence  and manipulation. Moments of nature or better of man touched nature, but also a wide range of culture and art history are the ongoing inspiration and subject for Erwin Gross. In his often large-format paintings, he uses watercolour-like backgrounds to create two-dimensional spaces in which nuances in the application of paint, splashes or patina-like irregularities become the relevant element. Recognising the states of the works requires concentration, which the artist does not only obtain through the almost monochrome palette and low light contrasts. In his studio, too, space is reserved exclusively for his works. In the extreme of this reduction, Erwin Gross creates the space for experimental fields of organic and formal arrangement, which come to the fore especially in his series. It is these relationships of painterly moments that find their space in the paintings and always give the artist cause to change the experimental arrangement once again.


Paula Kohn

Le Clos Pascal

Erwin GrossErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnoch Erwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnochErwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnoch Erwin Gross Malerei Kunst Ausstellung Karlsruhe wieoftnoch

"Le Clos Pascal" by Erwin Gross

09.07. - 25.07.2021

Die Malereien von Erwin Gross könnten in der Lautstärke unserer Zeit als leise verstanden werden. Fast ein bisschen geheimnisvoll, wie Erwin Gross selbst, über den nicht viel im Internet zu finden ist. Doch sollte das nicht als mystische Inszenierung missverstanden werden. Viel mehr geht es um die Wahrung eines Zustands der Übersicht. Denn der erlaubt höchste Aufmerksamkeit für die Unterschiede.


Die Bilder von Erwin Gross, der 1982 an der documenta 7 teilnahm und seit 1990 an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Malerei lehrt, finden ihren Ursprung oft an den Grenzbereichen von Zufall und Manipulation. Momente der Begegnung zwischen Natur und Mensch, aber auch die Malereigeschichte selbst sind dabei immer wieder Inspiration und Sujet für Erwin Gross. In seinen häufig großformatigen Bildern spannt er mit aquarellartigen Hintergründen zweidimensionale Räume auf, in denen Nuancen im Farbauftrag, Spritzer oder Patina-ähnliche Unregelmäßigkeiten zum relevanten Element werden. Das Erkennen, wie die Dinge liegen, erfordert eine Konzentration, die sich der Künstler nicht nur durch die fast monochrome Palette und geringen Lichtkontraste verschafft. Auch in seinem Atelier ist der Platz ausschließlich seinen Arbeiten vorbehalten. Im Extrem dieser Reduktion schafft Erwin Gross den Raum für Versuchsfelder aus organischer und formaler Anordnung, die besonders in seinen Serien zur Bedeutung kommen. Es sind diese Beziehungen der malerischen Momente, die in den Bildern ihren Raum finden und dem Künstler immer wieder Anlass geben, die Versuchsanordnung noch einmal zu verändern.


Paula Kohn